Skip to content

Carihi Secondary holds first scholarship awards show since COVID

Winners were announced on evening of June 6
Jasmine Tomlinson, left, and Donny Xu give each other a fist bump sharing the Glyn Fitzgerald Memorial Award. Photo by Edward Hitchins/Campbell River Mirror.

In what was the final major event before graduation, Carihi Secondary hosted its scholarship and bursary awards on the evening of June 6.

MC’ed by Colin Riddell, the ceremony honored students in over two dozen categories. Presenters ranged from service clubs like the Kinsmen of Campbell River and the Willow Point Lions Club, to prior graduating classes from yesteryear. Grade 12 students were honoured for their amazing work over their four years.

READ MORE: For one Campbell River student, Graduation in 2023 is extra special

“This is the first time since COVID we’re doing this,” said Carihi Principal Sean Mclaughin. “It is so wonderful to see so many students with their families being recognized in person. It’s such a wonderful experience.”

It was a humbling experience for many of these students, in particular Jasmine Tomlinson, who with Donny Xu, shared the Glyn Fitzgerald Memorial Award recognizing leadership within the school walls.

“I’m so humbled and honored,” said Tomlinson. “It’s very humbling for teachers and students to see me as this. I’m very happy they see me that way. I’m so grateful.”

For Xu, who was described by MC Riddell as a “jack of all trades around the school,” from doing the morning announcements over the P.A. to anchoring the senior basketball team, he couldn’t think of a more special moment.

“This means a lot to me,” said Xu, who also took home an award in Science and plans on attending the University of British Columbia (UBC) in the fall. “It’s like a dream come true, passing it in the hallways in Grade 9. For me, to be able to share this great award with one of my best friends, it means so much because she’s just as deserving too.”

For Alexander Drdul Leadership winner Isabell Laurin, this couldn’t be any better.

“It’s really awesome,” says Laurin, who Mclaughlin described as being a “future Prime Minister.” “I don’t know really know what to say.”

Laurin, who plans on heading to Kingston’s Royal Military College come September and studying astronomy and space science, says the hard work she has displayed will benefit her as she heads out for a potential career in space science.

“After four years of doing my best, it’s amazing to be recognized,” said Laurin.

Below is a full list of Scholarship and Bursary recipients (number in brackets means multiple recipient):

Stuart Alan Harrison Women in Science Bursary - Jasmine Tomlinson

Community Foundation Barry Henshall Memorial - Donny Xu

CUPE 723 - Hannah Kirschner

Patrick Weir Memorial - Marcus Johnson

Jim Reid Memorial Award - Top Mathematics - William Badizo-George

Class of ‘66 - Hanna Kirshner, Celeste Gale, Kellan Vos, Janae McPherson, Lucas Milne, Juliette Nimmon.

Campbell River Retired Teacher’s Association - Emily Magowan

ALTRUSA Club - Ava Feltham, William Badizo-George (2)

Global Citizen Scholarship - Ushwya Brennan

Garry & Gretal Griffin Bursary - Martina Montana Vasquez

Campbell River District Teacher’s Association - Ushwya Brennan (2), Hannah Loeb, Colton Knight, Lucas Milne (2), Naomi Morrow, Kellan Vos, Emily Magowan (2)

North Island College Foundation - Janae McPherson (2)

Paul Wilson Carihi Triple S Award - Celeste Gale (2)

CR Principals and Vice Principals Association - Naomi Morrow (2)

Mosaic Forest Management Scholarship - Rylan Baikie

Kinsmen Club of Campbell River - Josh Bertrand, Andre Sonnenberg, Grace Nadler, Ruth Warkentin

Willow Point Volunteer Fire Department - Lacie Simmons, Maria Yon.

Quadra Island OAP Bursary - Juliette Nimon (2)

Beyond Beautiful Smiles Bursary - Janae McPherson (3)

C.R. Fraternal Hall Society Fraternity of Eagles #3097 - Zanker Hadilkin, Mary Bell, Natasha Diemer, Ruth Warkentin (2), Kate-Lynn Revoy

Day Break Rotary Major Awards - Isabelle Laurin, Celeste Gale (3)

Day Break Rotary Bursaries - Rose Gibson, Dana Smith, Donny Xu (2), Markus Johnson

Knights of Columbus Doug Flynn Memorial Award - Isabella Fagan

Knights of Columbus Trades Bursary - Markus Johnson (2)

Carihi Class Reunion 1970-1974 Bursaries - Dexter Manrique, Justin Zimmerman

Carihi PAC Awards - Fine Arts - Kate-Lynn Revoy (2), Science - Donny Xu (3), Applied Skills - Markus Johnson (3), Leadership - Isabelle Laurin (2), English - Jasmine Tomlinson (2), Socials - Nate Taylor- O’Rorke. Mathematics - Janae McPherson (3), Physical Education - Kylie Lund, Modern Languages - William Badzio-George (3)

Willow Point Lions Club - Josh Bertrand (2)

Mike McInnes Memorial Bursary - Kellan Vos (2)

C.R. Hospital Auxiliary Bursary - Hannah Kirschner (2), Siena Blaseckie

Campbell River Friends of Music Bursary - Lucas Milne (3)

Campbell River Volunteer Fire Dept #1 Hall - Neil Oppel Memorial Bursaries - Jean-Samuel Bolduc, Ava Feltham, Andre Sonnenberg (2)

Lt. Richard McFarlane Memorial Scholarship - Coen Pendergast

Larmour Family - Don and Mavis Bursary - Josh Bertrand (3)

Truck Loggers Association Scholarship - Claire MacKinnon Nelson.

Eagle Ladies Auxiliary - Ava Feltham (2)

David H. Olsen - Quadra Island Legion - Celeste Gale (4)

Carihi Staff Award for Fine Arts - Natasha Diemer (2)

CEP Chinook Local 630 - Siena Blaseckie (2), Donny Xu (4)

Royal Canadian Legion - Zander Haidkin (2), Grace Nadler (2)

Samantha Iverson Memorial Award - Ushwya Brennan (3)

Pacific Rim Exchange - Dana Smith

Mid Island Coop - Claire McKinnon Nelson (2)

International Student Scholarship - Kosei Sakai

Campbell River Minor Hockey Association - Justin Zimmermann (2)

Betty Calimente Memorial Award - Claire McKinnon Nelson (3)

Alexzander Drdul Leadership - Isabell Laurin (3)

Mulidzas - Curtis Wilson Memorial Award - Abby Rolland

Glyn Fitzgerald Memorial Award - Jasmine Tomlinson (3), Donny Xu (5)

Edward Hitchins

Like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter