VIDEO: Ride along with the Road Runners in Saratoga Speedway action

Saratoga Speedway report

Check this action video by Road Runners competitor #18 Austin Hack in the Action Pages Night at Saratoga Speedway:

By Andy Guest

Action Pages sponsored the night of racing entertainment on Saturday as the Hornet cars; Mad Max, Crash to Pass and the Road Runners put together a full night of exciting, competitive racing. The night featured a clean sweep for one driver and three first time main event winners. The clean came in Hornet A racing with Carter Hintz posting the fastest time then pulled of wins in both the A heat and 25-lap main event. Meanwhile, first time main event wins went to Isaac Davis in the Hornet C main and Arlend Berry in the B main.

Heat race wins in the Hornet B racing saw wins going to Tyson Seggie, Wesley Pheaton and Randi Jocye while Serina Hintz made it a family sweep by winning the Hornet A b heat. In Mad Max racing, Courtenay’s Danielle Antonik – the current class point leader – added to her point total by winning the heat race and 20 lap main event while the Road Runner class saw Ryan Guest win both the heat race and main event.

In Crash to Pass action, the third first time main event winner of the night saw Chris Campbell pull of the win in an entertaining 20 lap race with Rich Hutton also pulling off his first win in the 10 lap heat race.

Sprint Cars next Saturday

Next Saturday night the fastest cars on the Island pay their first visit to Saratoga speedway as Columbia Fuels present open wheel night as the wingless Wilroc Lite Sprint cars along with the IMCA Modifieds and the Bomber cars invade the Black Creek oval.

The lighting fast Sprint cars clip around the 3/8’s oval in the 13 second range. There are 19 cars that are battling for their season championship which is lead by veteran Jeff Montgomery who has won the first three main events of the season including back to back wins during the recent Strawberry cup weekend.

Two local drivers compete in the Lites with Black Creek’s Duane Zienstra who also competes in the wing Sprint car class as well as Campbell River’s Mark Stuart.

Saturday night marks the third race of the season for the Modifieds after their first race was rained out. The Modifieds are led in points by Oyster River’s Chris Beaulieu who leads Travis Stevenson by 83 points with Jeff Monks, Jamie Pinto and Dano Bryant rounding out the top five in the season points race.

In the last race night for the Modifieds, Beaulieu captured a dramatic clean sweep as after posting the fastest lap in qualifying. He pulled off a 45 minute motor swap before going out and winning both the heat race and main event.

Guest talk…Next time out for the Hornets, Mad Max Crashers and Road Runners comes July 1 and will feature the season’s first boat race along with the annual Big Rig Highway Thunder with special guest the original truck from the Transformer movie franchise Optimus Prime. After having his Road Runner heavily damaged, Black Creek’s Tristan Zienstra will finish the season behind the wheel of an IMCA Modified becoming one of the youngest drivers to race a Modified. With the loss of one car, the Road Runner class will soon gain another car as former Hornet racer Danika Lynn has purchased Ryan Guest’s ex road runner and should be making her debut in the next few races…