The pit crew works to remove a dwarf car from the tire pile after it left the track at Saratoga Speedway Saturday night.

Night of firsts, bumper-to-bumper battles at Speedway

A record number of I.M.C.A. Modifieds entertained at Saratoga Speedway last weekend

A season high 13 I.M.C.A Modifieds took to the track on Saturday at Saratoga Speedway. Joining the action on Saturday was the Old Timers, Dwarf cars and the Bomber cars, with the Old Timers and the Dwarf cars making their last appearance of the year.

Five Bomber cars arrived on Saturday.

Boston Larson lead all 12 laps to take home the first heat. His dad, Darren Larson lead all six laps of their reverse heat. In the 15 lap main event, Justin Beaulieu finally managed to snap the Larsons’ main event winning streak, winning his first main event win of the year.

Nine Old Timers arrived for their last appearance of the year. In the 20 lap feature race, James Miller grabbed an early lead and held on to take his first main event win at Saratoga this year.

In the Dwarf car division, a battle ensued between Mike Meeres and Stewart Lee; Meeres and Lee battled bumper to bumper in their 12 lap heat, with Meeres holding on to take the win. But in a 10 lap reverse heat, Lee got the best of Meeres, taking home the win. A 25 lap main event once again saw Meeres and Lee battle bumper to bumper, but on lap 17 Lee took the lead and held off Meeres to take his third main event win of the year.

In a 13-car field of I.M.C.A Modifieds, the B heat saw Jeff May take his first ever Modified win while in the A heat, Brad Kotscherofski had his first ever Modified win, leading all 12 laps. In the 40 lap main event, points leader Chris Beaulieu found his way into first and held on to take his fifth main event win of the year, with second going to Travis Stevenson and third to Gregg Sagmoen.

Extra laps…Next weekend is the annual Canadian American Demolition Derby at Saratoga. Ten Canadian cars and 10 American cars will duel it out over a two day show. The Canadians took home the title last year and will be looking to retain their title this time around.