Skip Dean Thulin shouts out instructions to his sweepers in the A semi-final of the Ralph Boyd Men's Open at the Campbell River Curling Club. The Thulin rink went on to win the match and then A title.

Home sweet home for Thulin rink

Dean Thulin's Campbell River team was favoured at the Ralph Boyd Men's Open and they didn't disappoint

  • Feb. 12, 2013 12:00 p.m.

The A title is staying at home.

The hometown favorites, Dean Thulin’s rink, captured the A event championship with a victory over Gary Smith’s team at the Ralph Boyd Men’s Open on Sunday the Campbell River Curling Club.

The Thulin rink of Campbell River advanced to the final with wins over teams led by skips Dave Lawrence, Darrel Knowles and Richard Tanguay.

After losing the opening match to Thulin, the Lawrence rink advanced to the B final before losing to the Brian Conlan rink.

In the C final, Brian Zealand’s team downed Ron Schmidt’s rink. And in the D final, the Jack Perry Rink defeated Richard Lewis’ team.

The 32-team tournament was played Thursday through Sunday at the curling club.

The tournament is named in memory of the Ralph Boyd, one of the club founders who also played at the Brier.