Five Campbell River Storm players selected to play in all-star game

The 2014 VIJHL All-Star Classic in Duncan will feature five players from the Campbell River Storm

The 2014 Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League (VIJHL) All-Star Classic will feature five players from the Campbell River Storm.

The roster also includes 16 of the top 20 scorers in the VIJHL, including the top five – Brendan deVries (Campbell River), Connor Logan (Peninsula), Garrett Dunlop (Nanaimo), Brayden Taekema (Campbell River), and Alex Milligan (Kerry Park).

For Team North, snipers include the high scoring duo from Campbell River deVries and Taekema who will be supported by their Storm team mate James Severs, and an exciting cast of players that include Comox Valley Glacier King’s Duncan Pernal, Ali Gotmy and Brendyn Smith; second in team scoring Jordan Levesque (Nanaimo) and veteran Daniel Foglietta. Travis Flug and Brodie Smith (Oceanside) who are first and second respectively in their team scoring, round out the forwards for the North along with Nate Fitzpatrick (Oceanside) .

The defensive side for the North includes Campbell River’s Trent Johnson and Alex Brewer who lead defensively in points for their team, Nick Tupper (Comox), Noah Russie and Dayton Boutillier (Nanaimo) and Liam Peel (Oceanside).

For Team South, forwards include Sam McMullen (Saanich), Jackson Skerratt (Peninsula), Mark Walton (Victoria), and Brett Lervold (Westshore). Rounding out the forward lines for the South are rookie Tate Coughlin (Peninsula), Dayne Ellison (Saanich), Blake Roney (Victoria), David Marshall (Victoria), and Connor Krupa (Westshore).

On the defensive side, the South will be led by Graham Zagrodney (Victoria) who sits first in league scoring by defencemen.  Additional rear-guards include Garrett Kemmler (Saanich), Sean Buchanan (Peninsula), Robert Zadra (Victoria), and Tyson Young (Westshore).

The battle between the pipes pitts the North’s Jack Surgenor (Campbell River), Michael Hails (Comox) and Ryan Waldhause from Nanaimo against the South’s Stephen Heslop (Peninsula) along with Conner Beauchamp and Nathan Hargrave – both from Victoria.

The North All Stars will be coached by Brad Knight from the Buccaneers and the South All Stars will be led by Mark van Helvoirt from the Cougars. The puck drops at 3 p.m. at the Island Savings Centre in Duncan on Sunday, Jan. 26. Tickets are $10 for adults, $8 for seniors and students and $6 for children and will be available at the door.