In a quiet corner of Campbell River, where the gentle murmur of the water flowing by provides a constant soundtrack, the Haig-Brown House is preparing to welcome the public again as it begins its summer season of programming.
The Haig-Brown House was built in 1923, and purchased in 1936 by Roderick and Ann Haig-Brown.
Roderick Haig-Brown was a well-known writer, conservationist and magistrate. His wife Ann was also an important member of the community as a librarian, local activist and care giver for women and children in crisis.
They named their home Above Tide and used their 20 acre property to grow food, raise livestock, and maintain a formal garden with English-style lawn.
When the property was sold to the province in 1975 the Haig-Browns indicated that they wanted the site to be used, not become a “hands off” heritage site.
The Museum at Campbell River, who manages the property, is ensuring that the wishes of the Haig-Browns continue to be honoured.
This heritage property is never static, with a year-round schedule that includes housing the Writer-in-Residence during the winter, and a non-stop schedule of activities during the summer months.
The Bed & Breakfast opened May 1 and has been welcoming guests to stay and experience the house.
During July and August a series of Croquet & Tea events will be hosted on the formal lawn.
In September, the Haig-Brown Festival, which is being presented this year with a fresh new approach, will take place the last Sunday of the month to celebrate Rivers Day.
Interspersed during the summer months are several weddings and other private functions, which all keep the site occupied and animated.
This is an unusual approach to managing a heritage property, but it is one that is working well for the community.
For more information contact the Museum at Campbell River at 250-287-3103 or the Haig-Brown House at 250-286-6646. www.haig-brown.bc.ca