The City of Campbell River awarded six new Community Builder Awards at a ceremony last week. Biographies and photos of the recipients can be seen at

City honours community builders

Another six Campbell Riverites have been officially named “community builders.”

Max Chickite, Mike Gage, Bill Henderson, Jim Lilburn, Kris Mailman and Morgan Ostler were honoured by the City of Campbell River for their community contributions during an appreciation dinner and ceremony last week.

“It is a privilege to formally recognize people in our community who have left a legacy as a foundation for us to enjoy and build upon,” says Campbell River mayor Andy Adams. “From artists and model corporate citizens to social and environmental activists, Community Builder Awards recognize specific service and selfless volunteerism by outstanding individuals whose initiative and leadership have made Campbell River an even better place to live.”

First Nations artist Max Chickite was honoured for his painting, award-winning carving and teaching, and for inspiring and co-founding the Transformations on the Shore carving contest.

Mike Gage was recognized for his many years working on river conservation and restoring and preserving fish habitat, for his leadership in the Tyee Club and for initiating the Campbell River Salmon Foundation.

First Nations artist Bill Henderson was also honoured for his contributions through First Nations art, sharing his carving skills with youth and donating his art for fundraising events. His parents, Sam and May Henderson, were previously honoured with Community Builder awards.

Jim Liburn was recognized for decades of work behind the scenes at Campbell River’s Canada Day, Salmon Festival and Loggers Sports, and for supporting other community events with equipment and resources to reduce costs.

Entrepreneur and philanthropist Kris Mailman, who maintains the headquarters for his companies Seymour Pacific and Broadstreet Properties in Campbell River, was honoured for substantial support of a number of community causes, including being an integral part of downtown revitalization with the award-winning corporate office building, and the donation of the MRI machine for the new Campbell River Hospital.

Morgan Ostler was recognized for her involvement in a number of community groups, particularly for championing agriculture and environment protection, for her efforts to construct the inland Island Highway, for her work as a former councillor, writer and business owner. She was named Citizen of the Year in 1994 and honoured with the Environmental Action and Leadership Award in 2012.

The City of Campbell River established the Community Builder Award in 2007, and has awarded 41 community builders with the recognition, including previous award recipients Art Lightfoot, Ruth Barnett, Buford Haines, Roderick and Ann Haig-Brown, Sam and May Henderson, Tom and Mavis Hudson, Rose McKay, Dick Murphy, Ned and June Painter, Bruce Saunders, Charles and Mary Thulin, David and Eliza Vanstone, Van Egan; Pat Martin, Skip McDonald, Mac McDougall, Lynn Nash, Doris Ritchie, Jack Baikie, Wallace Baikie, Harper Baikie, Bob Langdon, Kimtalaga Elizabeth Glendale Quocksister, Lillie Thulin, Carol Chapman, Jacqueline Gordon, Chuck Saults, Jim Luckhurst and Barry Henshall.

Photos and biographies of Cempbell River’s community builders can be seen on the city’s website, under Your City Hall/City Honours.