Andy Adams

Andy Adams elected new mayor of Campbell River

Andy Adams wins mayoral race in 2014 municipal election

Andy Adams, who has spent nine years on Campbell River council, is Campbell River’s new mayor. Adams won with 4,370 votes, followed by Walter Jakeway in second place with 4,249 votes and Steve Wood with 598 votes.

As for the rest of council, there will be three new faces at the table and one new, but familiar face.

Former mayor Charlie Cornfield was elected to council with 4,286 votes, which was the most of all councilor candidates. Second was Michele Babchuk with 4,056 votes, Larry Samson finished in third with 4,047 votes, followed by Ron Kerr with 3,571 votes, Marlene Wright with 3,455 votes, and Colleen Evans with 3,144 votes.

Claire Moglove was the only incumbent councillor running for re-election to not be returned to council. Councillors Mary Storry and Ryan Mennie chose to not run for re-election.

Adams thanked all 20 of the candidates who put their names forward and was also quick to thank outgoing Mayor Walter Jakeway for his three years of service, as well as outgoing Coun.Claire Moglove for her two terms on council.

Adams said the message from Campbell Riverites came through loud and clear on Saturday night.

“The people of Campbell River have very clearly stated that taxes and restrained spending is very important and I will hear that message loud and clear and will continue on being fiscally responsible and keeping things as constrained as they can be moving forward,” Adams said.

Adams said he is eager to work with the newly elected council, which he said is a good mix of people.

“It’s just sinking in now but from what I’ve heard it’s going to be what I was sort of hoping for and that’s a good cross section of people from different backgrounds, different experiences, some new and with Charlie (Cornfield) – I say this in the nicest way possible – some recycled,” Adams said during a reception at Seymour Pacific Saturday night. “But I’m really looking forward to Charlie’s wealth of experience.

“We’ve got a good balance, with Michele (Babchuk) with her experience on school board, Colleen (Evans) from the chamber and her experience and professionalism, Marlene (Wright) from business, Charlie (Cornfield) with forestry and being mayor and Ron (Kerr) brings that social and arts and culture background which is critically important and Larry (Samson) is a long-time Campbell River guy that has his finger on the pulse of what’s going on in the community,” Adams said.

Adams said with all of those people coming together, “it looks very good for Campbell River.”

Adams thanked his campaign team, which was made up of former councillor and freeman Bill Matthews as well former councillor Roy Grant, who gave up his seat on council in 2011 to take a run at the mayor’s chair. Grant, who was unsuccessful in 2011, joined Adams’ campaign for mayor this year and was thrilled to see his good friend come out on the winning end.

“I’m so, so happy!” said an excited Grant.

Adams credited an excellent campaign team for his win and his wife, Karen, whose support he said was integral to his run for mayor.


Strathcona Regional District

All incumbents on the Strathcona Regional District board were re-elected Saturday night.

Noba Anderson was re-elected in Area B (Cortes Island) with 287 votes. Coming in second was Bruce Brown with 199 votes and in third place was Delia Becker with 52 votes.

In Area D, Brenda Leigh was re-elected with 813 votes, with challenger Terry Honig finishing second with 642 votes.

Jim Abram (Area C) and Gerald Whalley (Area A) were elected by acclamation.


School District 72

Elected to the board of education are: Joyce McMann with 3,998 votes, Ted Foster with 3,949 votes, Daryl Hagen with 3,812 votes, John Kerr with 3,515 votes, Richard Franklin with 3,214 votes, and Susan Wilson (Quadra Island) who was acclaimed.

Sayward Valley is reporting a tie between Barbara Bowbrick and Gail Kirshner and a recount will be conducted by Tuesday, November 18.