Daybreak Rotary member Carolyn Henshaw presents the Barry Henshall Memorial Scholarship Award ($1

Campbell River Daybreak Rotary awards 10 scholarships to graduates

Awards are presented annually for outstanding leadership and commitment to school and community

Daybreak Rotary member Phil Asplin presents the Gerry Gillis Interact Award ($1,000) to Claire Peachey.

The Campbell River Daybreak Rotary Club has granted ten scholarships to highschool graduates in Campbell River, to assist with tuition costs of post-secondary education.

Awards are presented annually for outstanding leadership, commitment to school and community, and in keeping with the Rotary value of “Service Above Self.”

This year’s scholarship winners are all leaders who are going on to post-secondary studies in fields as varied as Education, Engineering, Biomedical Science, Commerce, Environmental Science, Accounting, Social Work, and Pharmacy. They all have dreams of serving others in various capacities, and contributing to their community and the global community.

Winner of the Barry Henshall Memorial Scholarship Award ($1,000) is Hayley Zumkeller, a graduate of Timberline Secondary School, who is going on to study Commerce at the University of Victoria. This award is in memory of a well-known Rotarian who embraced life and all persons, and recognizes outstanding leadership in school and community.

Winner of the Gerry Gillis Interact Award ($1,000) is Claire Peachey, a graduate of Carihi Secondary School, who plans to study Sciences at the University of Victoria. This award recognizes a member of the Interact Club who has provided exemplary volunteer service and impressive leadership.

Rotary Scholarships ($500 each) have been awarded to Janine Annett, Antonia Bellefleur, Alyssa Christensen, Valerie Doyon, Brooke Eidsvik, Mairi Marlow, Tatiana Misky, and Alysha Wall. These students have initiated programs, organized events, and contributed many hours of volunteer service in our community, and in their schools. Daybreak Rotary is very proud of all of these students, applauds their efforts, and is pleased to support them in making their dreams come true.

Campbell River Daybreak Rotary is part of Rotary International, the world’s first service club organization, with more than 1.2 million members in 33,000 clubs worldwide. Rotary club members are volunteers who work locally, regionally, and internationally to combat hunger, improve health and sanitation, provide education and job training, promote peace, and eradicate polio under the motto “Service Above Self.”

Winners of eight Daybreak Rotary scholarships ($500 each) from left (front row): Brooke Eidsvik, Valerie Doyon and Tatiana Misky; (back row) Antonia Bellefleur, Mairi Marlow, Alyssa Christensen, Alysha Wall, and Janine Annett.