New federal Liberal riding

The new Federal Liberal Riding of Vancouver Island North/Comox/Powell River has launched a new team ready for the next election slated for Oct. 15, 2015.

The new executive includes:  President: Janice Cashin, Vice President: Peter Schwarzhoff, Vice President Powell River: Kim Barton-Bridges, Treasurer: Mike Hendren, Secretary: Sandra Harrison, Organization: Hugh Stainsby, Membership: Gaye Doyle, Policy: Vivian Lochridge, Communication: Shannon Myers, Election Readiness: Dove Hendren, Volunteers: Debra Whitehouse.

The addition of the three new ridings that affect the North Island and Powell River: Courtenay/ Alberni, West Vancouver/Sunshine Coast and Vancouver Island North/Comox/Powell River has created confusion in many areas, the most vital one being the complicated changes in boundaries. This wide area, that includes a ferry ride, will be difficult for all parties to negotiate.

We encourage an open exchange of ideas on this story's topic, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. Personal attacks, inappropriate language, and off-topic comments may be removed, and comment privileges revoked, per our Terms of Use. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

You might like ...

Hydro announces more dam upgrades worth ‘hundreds of millions of dollars’
Grinches steal Christmas ornaments
Amrik Virk advised Kwantlen on secret executive bonus
Surgical waits average five months in B.C.
Sooke Fire Department kept busy in the month of October
Bearing witness through a work of art
Residents around Little Qualicum River are frustrated
Police to conduct roadside safety checks
Is a family getaway on your Christmas list?

Community Events, November 2014

Add an Event

Read the latest eEdition

Browse the print edition page by page, including stories and ads.

Nov 26 edition online now. Browse the archives.